Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Photo Credit: Andy McNeill, UW-Platteville Sports Information
Photo Credit: Andy McNeill, UW-Platteville Sports Information

Titans Win 10 Events Across Three Meets

The UW-Oshkosh men's track & field team won 10 events at the Lawrence University Viking Invitational, Augustana College (Ill.) Meet of Champions and UW-La Crosse Phil Esten Challenge on Friday and Saturday (April 19-20).

The Titans took the top of five spots at Lawrence with 210 points, sixth at Augustana with 66 points and collected 11 points for 10th of the 21 teams competing in La Crosse.

Zach Nelson (Jr. • Mount Horeb) won the 3,000-meter run in Appleton with a time of 10:22.39 and Jake Krause (Jr. • Hortonville) won the 1,500-meter run in 4:03.92. Owen Bostwick (So. • Whitefish Bay) and Jason Skinkis (Fr. • Seymour) took fourth and fifth in the 1,500 at 4:09.91 and 4:11.31 respectively.

In the 400-meter dash, Jelani Lawson (Jr. • Kenosha) ran a 50.72-second time for the top spot. He was joined in the top-10 by Joell Belonga (Fr. • Gurnee, Ill.) in 52.40 seconds for fourth.

Ray Talbert (Jr. • Waterloo, Iowa) won the 100-meter dash with a 11.01 finish while Diego Villalobos (Sr. • Glen Ellyn, Ill.) grabbed third in 11.06 seconds. Brett Clavijo (Jr. • Appleton), Lucas Koerselman (Jr. • West Des Moines, Iowa), Ja'siah Williams (So. • West Bend, Ind.) and Ben Lissa (Fr. • East Moline, Ill.) also took top-eight positions.

Jett Breed (Fr. • Oswego, Ill.) and Bostwick each placed in the 800-meter run. Breed took fourth in 2:00.61 and Bostwick ran a 2:03.06 for eighth.

The top two spots in the 400-meter hurdles went to Weston Lerdal (Jr. • Neenah) and Reid Marquardt (Sr. • Peshtigo) with times of 57.45 and 58.43 seconds respectively. Krause grabbed seventh with a 1:03.35.

Villalobos also placed in the 200-meter dash with a 23.50-second time.

In the high jump, Kyle Wisniewski (Fr. • New London) finished with the top height at 2.05 meters. Kendrick Cyracus (So. • Plainfield, Ill.) jumped 1.76 meters for sixth.

Gavin Fritsch (So. • Little Chute) led the four Titans finishers in the discus throw with a best cast of 51.33 meters for first place. Kieran Maude (So. • Palatine, Ill.) took second with 45.58 meters, Isaiah Isom (Sr. • Lansing, Ill.) third with 43.61 meters and Bryce Hale (Fr. • Kimberly) with 42.71 meters.

Five Titans placed in the shot put. Maude won the event at 15.86 meters, Gavin Fritsch finished with a 14.35-meter throw for second, Isom threw 14.34 meters for third, Cameron Bendixen (So. • DeForest) threw 13.75 meters for fifth and Jacob Fritsch (So. • Little Chute) threw 13.34 meters for sixth.

Nick Vey (So. • Oshkosh) grabbed eighth in the javelin throw with a best distance of 35.39 meters.

Hale won the hammer throw at 51.29 meters, while Gavin Fritsch, Jake Buss (Fr. • Poynette), Maude and Steven Wauer (So. • Muskego) placed with best throws of 49.71, 48.94, 47.17 and 44.89 meters each.

At Augustana, Oshkosh collected an additional two event wins. Dylan Gramley (So. • Plainfield, Ill.) won the 100-meter dash in 10.67 seconds and Rashaad Henderson (Sr. • Racine) won the 200-meter dash at 21.64 seconds.

Danny Vinson (Jr. • Berrien Springs, Mich.) and Londyn Little (Jr. • Columbia, Il.) joined Gramley and Henderson with second place times of 10.95 and 21.77 seconds respectively.

Aden Sears (Sr. • Eureka, Ill.) compiled 6,378 points for third in the decathlon. Charlie Nolan (So. • Normal, Ill.) took fourth with 6,341 points, Payton White (Sr. • Berrien Springs, Mich.) finished sixth with 6,059 points, Cavan Dobberstein (Fr. • Manawa) grabbed seventh with 6,022 points and RJ Bosshart (Sr. • Muskego) accumulated 6,004 points for eighth.

Jason Ford (Sr. • Verona Jr. • Neenah Jr. • Neenah) finished the 3,000-meter steeplechase in La Crosse with an eighth place time of 9:25.68.

Steven Potter (Sr. • Oak Creek) ran a 3:49.97 1,500-meter run for second place.

The Titans return to the track on Wednesday (April 24) for the four day Drake University Relays. They will also compete at the UW-Eau Claire Dick & Mary Johnson Invitational on Saturday (April 27). Jr. • Neenah