Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Defending Conference Champion Eagles Conquer Titans

Defending Conference Champion Eagles Conquer Titans

Mariah Marowsky brought home two individual wins and a second-place finish in the relays during UW-Oshkosh's 136-86 road loss to the UW-La Crosse women's swimming & diving team on Saturday (Jan. 18).

Marowsky, a freshman, swam to winning times of 54.59 seconds in the 100- and 1:58.11 in the 200-yard freestyles. She also helped teammates Sydney Challoner, Hannah Cunningham and Rachel Jaworski register a second-place time of 1:45.53 in the 200-yard freestyle relay.

UW-Oshkosh's other individual victory belonged to Challoner. She won the 200-yard butterfly with a time of 2:19.65 while placing second in the 200-yard breaststroke with a swim of 2:39.55.

Titans Paige Betthauser and Jennifer Lutz each contributed a second-place finish with their times of 5:47.83 in the 500-yard freestyle and 2:22.42 in the 200-yard backstroke, respectively. Betthauser and Lutz also joined Alyssa Hassel and Emma Wilcher for a second-place performance of 2:08.30 in the 200-yard medley relay.

The Titans' seven third-place listings included two each from Hassel, Lexi Gray and Allison Wucak. Hassel earned times of 2:32.20 in the 200-yard individual medley and 2:49.12 in the 200-yard breaststroke, Gray performances of 6:04.84 in the 500- and 12:12.06 in the 1,000-yard freestyles and Wucak scores of 162.25 in the 1- and 174.90 in the 3-meter diving.

Cunningham added a third-place time of 26.71 seconds in the 50- and a fourth-place swim of 57.64 seconds in the 100-yard freestyles.

UW-Oshkosh's eight fourth-place finishes also included a pair from both Wilcher and Leah Perreault. Wilcher posted times of 2:43.64 in the 200-yard individual medley and 2:48.95 in the 200-yard butterfly while Perreault recorded efforts of 33.63 seconds in the 50-yard freestyle and 3:10.81 in the 200-yard breaststroke.

The Titans also acquired fourth-place times of 6:14.61 in the 500-yard freestyle from Betthauser, 2:06.48 in the 200-yard freestyle from Lutz and 6:14.61 in the 500-yard freestyle from Brianna Beseler.

UW-La Crosse, the eight-time defending WIAC champion, won 10 of the 13 contested events.

UW-Oshkosh is off until it hosts Beloit College on Jan. 31 in Albee Hall.

Written by Sarah Witherspoon, UW-Oshkosh Sports Information