Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Titans Finish Fourth At WIAC Championship

UW-Oshkosh had eight runners finish in the top 48 listings at this year's WIAC Championship.
UW-Oshkosh had eight runners finish in the top 48 listings at this year's WIAC Championship.

Junior Cody Chadwick ran to an eighth-place finish to lead UW-Oshkosh at the 59th Annual Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Men's Cross Country Championship (Presented by Culver's) held Saturday (Nov. 2) at the Cole Acres Golf Course in Cuba City.

Chadwick completed the 8,000-meter race of 90 runners with a time of 26:35. Chadwick finished 12th at last year's championship and 26th in 2017.

UW-Oshkosh had seven other runners finish in the top 48 listings, including Steven Potter who placed 13th with a time of 26:48. Potter was a 46th-place finisher at last year's meet.

The Titans also received a 27th-place time of 27:29 from Joe Kehoe, a 29th-place performance of 27:32 from Andrew George and a 38th-place effort of 27:51 from Andrew Rathkamp on Saturday. George was a 42nd-place finisher a year ago.

UW-Oshkosh also had Mitchell Bradford finish 46th on Saturday with a time of 28:06, Andrew Muskevitsch 47th in 28:08, Noah Bruehl 48th in 28:13, Spencer Muffler 56th in 28:32, Jason Ford 63rd in 29:02, Noah O'Neill 72nd in 29:25 and Skyler Yunk 81st in 30:21.

The top runner in the meet was UW-La Crosse's Josh Schraeder. Schraeder, who finished third at last year's championship, won this year's race with a time of 25:39.

Tyler Nault of UW-La Crosse finished second to Schraeder with a time of 26:07 while UW-Platteville's Zach Klokow placed third in 26:17, UW-Whitewater's David Fassbender fourth in 26:24 and UW-Stout's Spencer Schultz fifth in 26:25.

The top seven runners in Saturday's race received All-WIAC First Team recognition while runners placing eight through 14 earn All-WIAC Second Team accolades. Individuals finishing 15 through 20 collect honorable mention laurels.

UW-Oshkosh finished fifth in the team scoring with 107 points. The 10-time WIAC champion Titans placed fifth at last year's meet with 127 points.

UW-La Crosse scored 28 points to easily win its third straight title and 35th overall. The Eagles were followed by second-place UW-Stout with 89 points and third-place UW-Eau Claire with 92.

Finishing behind fourth-place UW-Oshkosh were fifth-place UW-Whitewater with 110 points, sixth-place UW-Stevens Point with 124, seventh-place UW-Platteville with 185 and eighth-place UW-River Falls with 260.

UW-La Crosse entered Saturday's meet ranked 16th in the NCAA Division III by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association, UW-Stevens Point 21st, UW-Stout 34th and UW-Eau Claire 35th.

The WIAC also announced that UW-La Crosse's Josh Schraeder was named the league's Athlete of the Year. The conference's Coaching Staff of the Year award was presented to UW-Stout.

Following a weekend off all eight WIAC teams will participate at the NCAA Division III Midwest Regional on Nov. 16 at the Lake Breeze Golf Club in Winneconne. The NCAA Division III Championship will be held Nov. 23 at the E.P. Tom Sawyer State Park in Louisville, Ky.

2019 WIAC Men's Cross Country Championship Website

Written by Sydney Szalinski, UW-Oshkosh Sports Information